Are You Safe Online? Three Things You Didn’t Know About Your Data on Social Media

If you like embracing technological advancements, then chances are you’re using one of the major social media platforms that exist
today.

Take Facebook, for instance. Do you know what you actually signed up for when you hit that ‘create account button?’ The truth is, this platform maintains database of user information that it remits upon signing up, and it always possesses certain rights over it. But there’s one thing that remains interesting in this whole situation.

Let me ask a simple question. Have you ever taken your time to go through the terms and conditions of the social media platforms you sign up on? According to the Pew Research Report published in 2017, half of Americans have no idea what a policy document is.

You heard it right.

And it’s even more interesting how social media users religiously skip reading through the crucial legal document, which leaves them in the dark as to what their personal data is going to be used for.

That is the sole purpose of this post to enlighten you on three major things that happen to your data upon signing up on any popular social media platform.

Without further ado, let’s jump right in!

  1. A section of your data rights is taken away.

Don’t get me wrong; I am not here on a mission to demonize social media platforms. I just thought you deserve to know the truth if you’re going to remain a faithful user of such platforms.

When you sign up on a platform such as Facebook or Twitter, you grant it rights over the data that you post or other personal details. But the sad thing is that most users are never aware of this since crucial terms of use are
found in one of the least read documents on the internet today – the ‘Privacy Policy document.’

Take Facebook, for instance. The site collects information from any device you use to connect to it. This means that any information contained in your gadgets can easily find its way to the Facebook database. Twitter is no different.

  1. You can’t always remove your data.

Familiar with that old phrase that says the internet never forgets? Well, as it turns out, social media doesn’t forget either since it is a part of the internet. Even after you delete your social media profile, there is no guarantee that your posts such as pictures, for example, will be removed permanently. Another user might have saved it in the meantime to post it later elsewhere.

The point is that some information that gets deleted on these platforms might never really get flushed down from the internet.

  1. Your data could find its way thousands of miles away.

This usually happens with viral posts. Even if you intended to share your post with your friends only, it might end up being seen by millions of people worldwide. As we already indicated, once this happens, there is no way to revert this process and delete your content from the internet.

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, you need to be aware of the risks associated with sharing your information online. The best way to do this is by studying any relevant documents related to the handling of user information. Once you know what you’re getting yourself into, you can be better equipped to handle any surprises along the way.